

Hydro Place. 500 Columbus Drive. P.O. Box 12400. St. John's. NL Canada A1B 4K7 t. 709.737.1400 f. 709.737.1800 www.nlh.nl.ca

December 12, 2019

Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities Prince Charles Building 120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040 St. John's, NL A1A 5B2

Attention:

Ms. Cheryl Blundon

Director of Corporate Services & Board Secretary

Dear Ms. Blundon:

Ro.

Application for Approval of the Construction of a Line Extension to a Customer Site and the Installation of Power Usage Monitoring and Control Equipment on the Customer Site – Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro's Reply

The following is Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro's ("Hydro") reply regarding the above-mentioned application.

Application Background

On December 4, 2019, Hydro filed an application with the Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities ("Board"), pursuant to section 41(3) of the *Public Utilities Act*, requesting approval of the capital expenditures for construction of a line extension to a customer site as well as the installation of power usage monitoring and control equipment on the site ("Application"). The specific customer is Blockchain Labrador Corporation (formerly 77849 Newfoundland and Labrador Inc.) carrying on business as Blocklab ("Blocklab"). These capital expenditures are necessary to provide the service contemplated in the Temporary Service Agreement between Hydro and Blocklab, which was approved by the Board in Board Order No. P.U. 27(2018). The estimated capital cost for the project is approximately \$244,000. The capital costs of this project will be recovered from Blocklab, less the value of salvageable components, estimated to be \$51,450.

Hydro's Response

There were no comments received from any of the parties. Therefore, Hydro respectfully requests that the Board approve the Application as submitted.

Should you have any questions, please contact the undersigned.

Yours truly,

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR HYDRO

Shirley A. Walsh

Senior Legal Counsel, Regulatory

SAW/las

cc:

Newfoundland Power

Mr. Gerard M. Hayes

Consumer Advocate

Mr. Dennis M. Browne, Q.C, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis

Industrial Customer Group

Mr. Paul L. Coxworthy, Stewart McKelvey Mr. Denis J. Fleming, Cox & Palmer

Praxair Canada Inc.

Ms. Sheryl E. Nisenbaum

ecc:

Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities

Ms. Jacqui Glynn PUB Official Email

Newfoundland Power

Regulatory Email Ms. Kelly C. Hopkins

Consumer Advocate

Mr. Stephen F. Fitzgerald, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis Ms. Sarah G. Fitzgerald, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis Ms. Bernice Bailey, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis

Industrial Customer Group

Mr. Dean A. Porter, Poole Althouse

Iron Ore Company of Canada

Mr. Gregory A.C Moores

Labrador Interconnected Group

Mr. Senwung Luk, Olthuis Kleer Townshend LLP Ms. Julia Brown, Olthuis Kleer Townshend LLP

Teck Resources Limited

Mr. Shawn Kinsella